Environment

Flora

Nunavik’s flora varies with the region’s biomes, from taiga to tundra. Southerly cities like Kuujjuaraapik, Kuujjuaq and Kangiqsualujjuaq are located on the edge of the treeline. Here we find black spruce, tamarack and various species of shrubs. To the north lies the tundra, its vegetation composed almost entirely of lichens. Despite the apparent scarcity of plant life, there is a wide variety of flowers and small edible fruits that can be harvested in the fall.

Fauna

The region is rich with wildlife. Traditional food is key to the Inuit economy and lifestyle, with walruses, beluga whales, seals and fish, such as the Arctic char, playing an important role. Muskox was successfully introduced in the 1960s. The harsh seasonal variations, from short summer to cold winter, force Nunavik’s animals to adapt to nature, creating one of the most impressive migrations in the animal kingdom.

The Inukshuk

For centuries, towering stone statues of human forms have marked the treeless horizon. We call these stone men “Inukshuk.” They are symbols of Inuit culture, timeless messengers offering directions or marking good hunting and fishing grounds. When the Inuit lived in semi-permanent camps, they were used for storing meat out of reach of animals.

History

Nunavik was inhabited for more than four millennia by Paleo- Eskimo peoples, who crossed the Bering Strait from Asia. At the turn of the first millennium AD, the first Thule sites appeared in Nunavik. The Thule — the ancestors of the modern Inuit — came from the northwest of Canada. The establishment of European trading posts in the eighteenth century brought about drastic and irreversible change. The Inuit remained nomadic before moving towards a settled life only two generations ago. In 1975, the Inuit signed the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. This treaty provides a legal framework for relations between indigenous groups and the two levels of government. It also led to the creation of several administrative entities, real governmental structures that have allowed the Inuit to establish their own priorities in key areas of community development. These entities are the Kativik Regional Government, the Kativik School Board and the Nunavik Regional Board of Health and Social Services.

Territory

Nunavik is located north of the 55th parallel. This glaciercarved region of tundra, lakes and boreal forest covers 60% of Quebec’s landmass. Nunavik is home to the highest mountain in Quebec (Mt D’Iberville in the Torngat Mountains), the northernmost town in Quebec (Ivujivik) and one of the highest tides in the world (up to 17 metres). The climate and seasons vary. The summer season is mild (12 ˚C on average) and the sun almost never sets. In the fall, the tundra is resplendent with colour. The winter is long and cold (-24 ˚C on average), but much drier. Yet from late March to late June, spring sets off a great natural rebirth. There is no road to Nunavik from the south: travellers arrive by air (First Air or Air Inuit). All communities have an airstrip.

The population

This country of wide open spaces and breathtaking beauty has just over 12,000 inhabitants. The population is divided into 14 villages, spread evenly between Ungava Bay and Hudson Bay. Only four communities have more than 1,000 residents, including the regional capital of Kuujjuaq, with a population of 2,375.

The Inuit

As their hunter-gatherer society was subjected to massive and rapid change, the Inuit gradually settled. The population is experiencing sustained growth, consisting mainly of young people — 60% of Inuit are under 25, double the corresponding figure in southern Quebec. The sheer size of the region means that they are widely dispersed. Educational attainment and employability are steadily increasing. The Inuit are an ancient people, known for their rich culture and warm hospitality. Although their modern lifestyle is more diverse, they are still closely linked to hunting and fishing. A strong environmental consciousness means that the Inuit still live in harmony with nature.

Services

The aircraft is the primary means of transport throughout the year. However, boats can also be used to supply goods during the shipping season. Even in small communities, automobiles and utility vehicles are increasingly common. Despite this, almost every family relies on a snowmobile to get around. In summer, power boats and all-terrain vehicles are commonly used.

Inuktitut is the language used for children until their second year of primary school. French and English are introduced bit by bit from Grade 1 to Grade 3. After this point, students can choose to receive instruction in English or French, although many learn both.

Like Nunavik Regional Board of Health and Social Services and health centre staff, the CLSC employees in each community are housed in modern, comfortable, self-catering apartments away from the workplace.

Satellites have increased the spread of telecommunications, benefitting all communities in Nunavik. Satellite TV and Internet are available in every village. The postal service is present across the region and major newspapers are available in some places.

Social life

in the north, life is so much more than work. in addition to a new job, you will have to adapt to a new climate and a different way of life. it is important to take time to understand and respect the inuit culture, to get involved and to always have an open mind.

The discovery of a new culture and intensity of social relations offsets the small size of local populations. Mutual support and the development of good relationships are the best ways to integrate into everyday life and work.

All of the communities share similarities. Services vary based on population: general store, community centre, gym, childcare centre, school, CLSC, police, roads and garbage collection.

A typical sight on the roads are the municipal trucks that supply drinking water and collect wastewater. Hydro-Québec supplies electricity using oil generators.

A wide range of outdoor recreation activities are available year round. In addition to world-renowned traditional activities like hunting and fishing, there is hiking, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, mountain biking and snowmobiling. Lively celebrations mark the seasons, such as berry picking festivals, sled dog and snowmobile races and the amazing Puvirnituq Snow Festival.

Communities

Ungava Bay Consult their attractions

KANGIQSUALUJJUAQ (Very large bay)

Population : 874

Attractions: Parc national Kuururjuaq, Mt D’Iberville (1646 m), Alluviaq Fjord, George River, Helen’s Falls, excellent fishing and wildlife watching.

KUUJJUAQ (Great river)

Population : 2,375

Attractions: Capital of Nunavik, administrative and commercial centre, old military base, Atlantic salmon fishing, caribou hunting.

TASIUJAQ (Which resembles a lake)

Population : 248

Attractions: World record tides, the world’s largest herd of hoofed animals (caribou), internationally renowned Arctic char fishing.

AUPALUK (Where the earth is red)

Population : 195

Attractions: First village in the Canadian Arctic planned entirely by the Inuit, marine mammal watching, near the caribou migration route, very hospitable and friendly people.

KANGIRSUK (The bay)

Population : 549

Attractions: Akpatok Island, walrus and polar bear watching, Arnaud River, huge tides, mussel harvesting, 11th century Viking archaeological sites.

QUAQTAQ (Tapeworm)

Population : 376

Attractions: Diana Island is home to a muskox herd, numerous archaeological sites, excellent hunting and wildlife watching sites.

KANGIQSUJUAQ (The large bay)

Population : 696

Attractions: Parc national des Pingualuit, Douglas Harbour (spectacular fjord), Qikirtaaluk Island and Qajartalik archaeological sites.

Hudson Bay Consult their attractions

SALLUIT (The thin ones)

Population : 1,347

Attractions: Deception Bay: a beautiful area renowned for its hunting and fishing; Sugluk Inlet: its natural beauty will leave you speechless.

IVUJIVIK (The place where ice accumulates because of strong currents)

Population : 370

Attractions: Cape Wolstenholme: abandoned Hudson’s Bay Company trading post, one of the world’s largest colonies of thick-billed murres, polar bear watching on Mansel Island.

AKULIVIK (Central prong of a kakivak / fishing spear)

Population : 615

Attractions: Smith Island: thousands of Canada geese, observation of geese during spring migration.

PUVIRNITUQ (Place where there is a smell of rotten meat)

Population : 1,692

Attractions: Puvirnituq Snow Festival: a celebration of Inuit traditions held every two years, snow and ice sculpture contests, Tamusi Qumak collection, archaeological sites.

INUKJUAK (The giant)

Population : 1,597

Attractions: Daniel Weetaluktuk Museum: collection of Inuit arts and crafts, site where the oldest rocks in the world (4.28 billion years) were found; Hopewell Islands: summer nesting area for many migratory birds

UMIUJAQ (Which resembles a boat)

Population : 444

Attractions: Richmond Gulf: surrounded by the highest cuestas in Quebec (over 365 m); Clearwater Lake: the second largest natural lake in Quebec; Seal Lake: home to a population of freshwater seals.

KUUJJUARAAPIK (Little great river)

Population : 657
Attractions: Manitounuk Islands: incredible cuestas and abundant wildlife, Amitapanuch Falls.

l'environnement

La flore

La flore du Nunavik varie selon les zones de végétation, allant de la taïga à la toundra. Les agglomérations les plus au sud, comme Kuujjuaraapik, Kuujjuaq et Kangiqsualujjuaq, sont situées à la limite des arbres. On y trouve des épinettes noires, des mélèzes et différentes espèces d’arbustes. Plus au nord, c’est la toundra. La végétation se limite presque exclusivement aux lichens. Malgré l’apparente rareté des plantes, il existe toutefois une grande variété de fleurs ainsi que des petits fruits comestibles dont on peut faire la cueillette à l’automne.

La faune

La faune est abondante. La nourriture traditionnelle joue un grand rôle dans l’économie et le mode de vie des Inuits. Les morses, les bélugas, les phoques et les poissons, dont l’omble de l’Arctique, occupent également une place importante. Le bœuf musqué a été introduit avec succès depuis les années 60. Au gré des saisons, passant d’un été court à un hiver rigoureux, les animaux du Nunavik n’ont d’autres choix que de s’adapter à la nature, donnant lieu à un des plus impressionnants déplacements migratoires du règne animal.

l'inukshuk

Depuis des siècles, d’imposantes silhouettes de pierre aux formes humaines se trouvent debout sur l’horizon dénudé d’arbre. On appelle cet « homme de pierre » l’inukshuk. Symboles de la culture inuite, ces messagers du temps avaient pour rôles d’indiquer la direction à suivre, marquer les sites où le gibier et le poisson étaient abondants ou encore, ranger la viande hors de portée des bêtes à l’époque où les Inuits vivaient dans des camps semi-permanents.

Histoire

Le Nunavik est habité depuis plus de quatre millénaires par des groupes appelés Paleoesquimaux venus d’Asie via le détroit de Béring. Au tournant du 1er millénaire après J.-C., les premiers sites thuléens apparaissent au Nunavik. Ils sont l’œuvre de peuples venus du nord-ouest canadien, les ancêtres des Inuits d’aujourd’hui. Mais tout ça change avec l’établissement des postes de traite par les Européens au cours du XVIIIe siècle, un changement drastique et irréversible. Encore nomades il y a deux générations à peine, les Inuits se sont progressivement sédentarisés. En 1975, les Inuits signaient la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois. Ce traité sert depuis de base juridique entre les groupes autochtones et les deux paliers gouvernementaux. Cette convention a conduit à la création de plusieurs entités administratives, véritables structures gouvernementales qui permettent aux Inuits d’établir eux-mêmes leurs priorités dans les secteurs clefs de leur développement communautaire. Ce sont : l’Administration régionale de Kativik, la Commission scolaire Kativik et la Régie régionale de la santé et des services sociaux Nunavik.

Territoire

Le Nunavik est situé au nord du 55e parallèle. Il couvre 60 % du territoire du Québec, un territoire composé de lacs sculptés par les glaciers, principalement de toundra et de forêt boréale. C’est au Nunavik que se trouve le plus haut sommet du Québec (mont d’Iberville / chaîne Torngat), la localité la plus septentrionale du Québec (Ivujivik) et l’une des plus hautes marées du monde (jusqu’à 17 mètres). Le climat et les saisons varient. La saison estivale est douce (moyenne de 12 ˚C) et le soleil ne se couche pratiquement jamais. À l’automne, la toundra se pavoise de couleurs flamboyantes. L’hiver est plus long et plus froid (moyenne de -24 ˚C) mais combien plus sec. Et que dire du printemps où la nature ne cesse de renaître de fin mars à fin juin. Pour accéder au Nunavik, aucune route n’est disponible en provenance du sud ; on vient par avion (First Air ou Air Inuit). Toutes les communautés disposent d’une piste d’atterrissage.

La population

Ce pays d’espaces infinis et d’une beauté grandiose est habité par un peu plus de 12 000 habitants. La population est répartie en 14 villages partagés également entre la baie d’Ungava et la baie d’Hudson. Seulement 4 communautés comptent plus de 1 000 habitants, dont Kuujjuaq, la capitale régionale avec 2 375 habitants.

Inuits

Société de chasseurs et de cueilleurs soumise à des changements importants et rapides, les Inuits se sont sédentarisés progressivement. La population, principalement constituée de jeunes, connaît une croissance soutenue. D’ailleurs, 60 % de celle-ci a moins de 25 ans, soit le double de la proportion correspondante dans le sud du Québec. Elle est très dispersée compte tenu de l’étendue du territoire. Le niveau de scolarisation et d’employabilité est en constante progression. Les Inuits sont un peuple légendaire, d’une culture riche et à l’accueil chaleureux. Leur mode de vie actuel est plus diversifié qu’autrefois, mais demeure encore intimement lié aux activités de chasse et de pêche. Soucieux de leur environnement, les Inuits vivent encore et toujours en harmonie avec la nature.

Services

L’avion est le moyen de transport à longueur d’année. Toutefois, le bateau est très utilisé aux fins d’approvisionnement de marchandise durant la saison de navigation. Même dans les petites communautés, les automobiles et les véhicules utilitaires sont de plus en plus présents. Toutefois, pratiquement chaque famille possède une motoneige pour ses déplacements. L’été, les embarcations motorisées et les véhicules tout-terrains sont d’usage courant.

L’inuktitut est la langue utilisée au primaire, jusqu’en deuxième année. Le français et l’anglais sont introduits progressivement de la première à la troisième année. Par après, les écoliers peuvent opter pour un enseignement en anglais ou en français, mais souvent les deux langues cohabitent.

Tout comme le personnel de la Régie régionale de la santé et des services sociaux et des centres de santé, les travailleurs œuvrant dans les CLSC de chaque communauté sont logés dans des appartements modernes, confortables et indépendants du lieu de travail.

Les télécommunications ont connu un essor considérable avec l’utilisation des satellites au bénéfice de toutes les communautés du Nunavik. La câblodistribution via satellite et l’Internet sont disponibles dans tous les villages. Le service postal est présent partout et les grands quotidiens sont accessibles à quelques endroits.

Vie sociale

Vivre au nord, c’est au-delà de l’emploi. Au nouveau travail s’ajoute l’adaptation au climat et à un mode de vie différent. Il faut prendre le temps de connaître la culture Inuite et de la respecter, de s’impliquer et de faire preuve d’ouverture d’esprit.

L’enrichissement qu’offre la découverte d’une nouvelle culture et l’intensité des relations sociales compenseront la taille réduite des populations locales. L’entraide et le développement de bonnes relations sociales deviennent aussi des moyens 
privilégiés pour faciliter l’intégration dans la vie quotidienne, comme au travail.

Les communautés ont toutes un « air de famille » à cause de leurs nombreux points communs. Elles disposent de services offerts selon leur population : magasin général, centre communautaire, gymnase, centre de la petite enfance, école, CLSC, service de police, de voirie et d’ordures ménagères.

Traits caractéristiques de services, ce sont les camions municipaux qui assurent l’approvisionnement en eau potable et la collecte des eaux usées. Hydro-Québec fournit l’énergie électrique via des génératrices au mazout.

Les loisirs de plein air sont nombreux en toute saison. Aux activités traditionnelles de la chasse et de la pêche, d’une notoriété touristique internationale, il faut ajouter la randonnée pédestre, la raquette, le ski de fond, le vélo de montagne et la motoneige. Plusieurs évènements animent la vie saisonnière, mentionnons sommairement le Festival de cueillette des petits fruits, la course de traîneau à chiens ou de motoneige et le remarquable Festival des neiges de Puvirnituq.

Communautés

Baie d'Ungava Consulter leur attraits

KANGIQSUALUJJUAQ (La très grande baie)

Population : 874

Attraits : Parc national Kuururjuaq, Mont d’Iberville (1646 m), le fjord Alluviaq, rivière Georges et les chutes Hélène, excellents lieux de pêche, observation de la faune.

KUUJJUAQ (La grande rivière)

Population : 2 375

Attraits : Capitale du Nunavik, centre administratif et commercial, ancienne base militaire, occasion de pêche au saumon de l’Atlantique, chasse au caribou.

TASIUJAQ (Qui ressemble à un lac)

Population : 248

Attraits : Marées exceptionnelles détenant le record du monde, le plus grand troupeau d’ongulés au monde (caribous), pêche à l’omble chevalier de renommée internationale.

AUPALUK (Là où la terre est rouge)

Population : 195

Attraits : 1er village de l’Arctique canadien entièrement conçu par les Inuits, observation de mammifères marins, près de la route de migration du troupeau de caribous, population très accueillante et de contact facile.

KANGIRSUK (La baie)

Population : 549

Attraits : L’île Akpatok, observation des ours polaires et des morses, rivière Arnaud, grandes marées, pêche aux moules, sites archéologiques des vikings du XIe siècle.

QUAQTAQ (Ver intestinal)

Population : 376

Attraits : L’île Diane abrite un troupeau de boeufs musqués, sites archéologiques nombreux, excellents lieux de chasse et d’observation.

KANGIQSUJUAQ (La grande baie)

Population : 696

Attraits : Parc national des Pingualuit, havre Douglas (fjord spectaculaire), sites archéologiques des îles Qikirtaaluk et Qajartalik.

Baie d'Hudson Consulter leur attraits

SALLUIT (Les gens minces)

Population : 1 347

Attraits : La baie Déception : magnifique lieu réputé pour
l’excellence de sa chasse et de sa pêche, le fjord du Sugluk :
les amants de la nature en resteront bouche bée.

IVUJIVIK (Là où les glaces s’accumulent en raison des forts courants)

Population : 370

Attraits : Cap Wolstenholme : poste de traite abandonné de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, site de nidification d’une des plus grandes colonies du monde de guillemots
de Brünnich, observation des ours polaires sur l’île Mansel.

AKULIVIK : (Fourchon central d’un kakivak / foène)

Population : 615

Attraits : L’île Smith : pour les milliers de bernaches du Canada, observation des oies lors de leur migration printanière.

PUVIRNITUQ (Là où il y a une odeur de viande putréfiée)

Population : 1 692

Attraits : Les festivals des neiges de Puvirnituq : une célébration des traditions inuites tenue aux deux ans, concours de sculpture sur neige et sur glace, collection Tamusi Qumak, sites archéologiques.

INUKJUAK (Le géant)

Population : 1 597

Attraits : Musée Daniel Weetaluktuk : collection d’objets d’art et d’artisanat inuit, site où on a trouvé les roches les plus vieilles du monde d’un âge record de 4,28 billions
d’années, les îles Hopewell : aire de nidification estivale de nombreux oiseaux migrateurs.

UMIUJAQ (Qui ressemble à un bateau)

Population : 444

Attraits : Lac Guillaume-Delisle : entouré des cuestas les plus élevées du Québec (plus de 365 m), le lac à l’Eau claire (2e plus grand lac naturel du Québec), le lac des Loups marins où vit une population de phoques d’eau douce.

KUUJJUARAAPIK (La grande petite rivière)

Population : 657

Attraits : Les îles Manitounuk : cuestas incroyables et faune abondante et la chute Amitapanuch.